7 thoughts on “

    • Me, too. I asked one friend how we can be activists if we lock ourselves in our attics playing with our toys. I was trying to get evaluated, but found it’s not financial feasible with my deductible. The last psychologist I saw didn’t think I have it, even after I showed him my screening tools and explained how each diagnostic criteria fit. I must respectfully disagree, but he listened, and did a good job explaining it to me. He just seemed to be caught up in the misconceptions (I.e., the idea that people with ASD can’t empathy). So, I guess diagnosis is a dead end for me, but it won’t change the direction of my future, and can’t change the fact that I didn’t get a fair shake in the past.
      My mom said I can’t go around telling people. I think she’s embarrassed, but she’s embarrassed by my behavior. At least this puts the behavior in context. Also, the psychologist told me I shouldn’t let her off the hook, as she destroyed my self esteem. Very validating of my existence, at least, which I often questioned the purpose of.

      • Screw your mom. *cough* Sorry, I’ll rephrase. Your mom’s embarassment regarding what you say and do is her problem.

        My mother took the opposite tack. In the last ten years or so, she suggested I have mild Asperger’s. That pissed me off at first. Then again, I got angry all over again reading parents of Aspie children talking about “the little professor syndrome”. Crap, I thought. That was Mom’s nickname for me when I was very little, because I learned to read early, read reference books for fun, and tried to use words I didn’t know how to pronounce. Then… I’ll spare you for now, but, I had lots and lots of problems with social skills. Also, it seems to run in the family: cousin with Asperger’s (Dad’s younger brother’s eldest son), nephew with high-functioning, niece we’re not sure yet (nephew and niece being my second sister’s children). Then there’s my son.

  1. Me, too. Aspiehubby info dumps even worse than me. While some compartmentalizing is necessary for everyone, I consider it society’s problem, not mine, that we don’t discuss the real things with other people. It seems like it’s because people want to convince people (especially themselves). I feel that a better approach is to honestly evaluate strengths and weaknesses. This frees us to ask for help when we need it, & offer when we can!

    • My mother is the one who suggested it to me when she noticed traits in my son. I had suspected it for years, & got poo-pop’d when I mentioned it. It didn’t piss me off though. It pissed me off that she wanted to keep it all hush when it explains so much.

Leave a Reply

