The human spectrum

My blog started out being about ASD, and my diagnostic journey.  As I am wont to digress, it has become about much broader, yet pertinent topics.

This is my theory: As society is changing so rapidly, and ASD symptoms become better understood, it feels like the distinctions are being integrated into the human spectrum.  I observe these symptoms in almost everyone, to one degree or another.  Stimming: Do you know anyone who does not engage in some type of behavior to calm themselves when they feel out of control?  I don’t.

This, I believe, is why diagnostics and criteria have changed in the DSMV.  Like many Aspie’s and HF Autists, I have mixed feelings.  I flailed about, unable to find my footing for years.  I was subject to scorn and judgement in the workplace and society at large, and help was not available.  it was socially acceptable for people to label me a lazy brat, and subsequently disregard me.  If not for lucking into my current job, where I’m allowed to be quirky and a bit odd, I would be stuck in neutral and further down the spiral.

To those of you who feel stuck:  It is sooo difficult always feeling out of place, and life presents unique challenges for those of our ilk.  I sincerely desire for those who feel this way to experience this awakening and connection with me.  Please do not lose hope.  Each of us is here for a specific reason.  My sincerest hope is to get as many people involved in this conversation as possible, to promote greater understanding, and ease this difficult transition.

Love & well wishes.  Namaste.

Standard

5 thoughts on “The human spectrum

  1. An idea that I’ve seen mentioned a couple of times is that “neurotypical” is a spectrum too. Where some people have more obviously autistic traits and some have fewer, or less visible ones. The cutoff point that the DSM-V tries to make (and I think it’s succeeding in that) is at what point do these traits become an impairment to everyday functioning? It could very well be that if society becomes more accepting of neurodiversity, some of my Asperger traits will no longer be an impairment, like my problems in social interaction at work. That’s a development I can only feel positive about.

  2. Thanks so much for your input! I can always count on your insight. I agree and feel that this is all part of said human spectrum. You’re right about the goal of DSMV changes. My concern is that society is not keeping up. My symptoms caused a great deal of difficulty maintaining employment for years. People are intolerant of sensitivity to perceived slights, emotional reactions, etc., particularly in my line of work. I have been able to change a great deal of this, due in large part to circumstantial changes which favored and fostered positive change. I’m frustrated by my diagnostic dead end, but heartbroken that there is not help available for those who are still stuck.
    I’m so glad that you and I have had success in these areas, and strongly desire to help others with this!

  3. Namaste, Hessiafae.

    I think it’s natural to want to branch out to other subjects– although, I started my blogging journey 10 years ago writing about everything and anything, then deciding to focus more as so many are doing now.

    I do not have much faith for integration. My Social Security disability determination was not for anything mental or psychological; it was for obesity, which was largely the fallout from psych drugs, evil people, and… blah blah blah. The psychological expert was not in person at the hearing, but was present over the phone: while she was nice to my wife, she ripped me a new asshole, saying bipolar wasn’t preventing me from employment, and that I had narcissistic personality disorder. That bitch. I thought I’d be denied, after SO much work, but fortunately, the judge was merciful. (I swear, this is the short version. The long version is deep in the tao of jaklumen archives, somewhere.)

    I suspect largely even if I could press a p-doc into administering me the Asperger’s test today, and it was proof positive, it wouldn’t change a damned thing.

    The DSM5… about all I can say is, it’s like an Apple slogan: “Got a problem? There’s a pill for that!” and one of the experts on the BoD for DSM-IV basically said “my colleagues, I think they meant well, did their best, but this, this and this… yeah, ignore all that.”

    • I’m glad you were able to obtain needed services. It certainly is an uphill battle. I don’t qualify because I work, my hubby doesn’t because of my income. The system is not really designed to help. Right now, I’m ok because I work a lot, but things keep going wrong with cars, so that eats up my overtime. I only tread water.
      Integration is happening, but slow. APA should account for that.
      I so need to go to school to become a psychologist to counteract the idiocy you’ve described above. We’re the crazy ones? Ok

      • The struggle continues, actually– we are starting the process of getting disability benefits for my son (formal diagnosis will come Monday, but he still qualifies) because the state squeezed our food stamps to $197, and that is for our family of four. It is not enough.

        Me… I will never go into psychology, psychiatry, counseling/therapy. I’ve met too many putzes and schmucks, quite a few who were clients once upon a time. So many that are still dysfunctional in a lot of ways. Don’t get me wrong, I wish you the best if you go that route, but I will say for me, personally, I won’t touch that with a 50′ pole.

Leave a Reply

