Stimming Cessation

I recently posted about therapeutic aspects of stimming behavior.  Unfortunately, when accounting for risk vs. benefits, some stimming does more harm than good.  My 9-year-old has begged, at increasing intervals, for his parents to stop smoking…So we’re giving it a whirl.  We purchased an e-cig starter kit & started vaping.  It’s technically not marketed as a smoking cessation device, but we are using it as such regardless.  So far, so good.  I have purchased three packs of cigarettes in the past week, not bad for a pack and 1/2 pack a day smoker (myself & aspiehubby, respectively).  Basically, I’ve been vaping at home, and smoking at work.  While nicotine addiction is an issue, it feels like I’m more addicted to going through the motions, so patches and gums are totally ineffective.  Here goes…

Standard

4 thoughts on “Stimming Cessation

  1. Good luck! I successfully quit smoking at the end of July, first time I tried, two packs a day habit… and then I discovered that my nicotine habit had masked some fairly intense sensory issues and general anxiety for 17-18 years. It got to the point where I couldn’t even leave the house anymore. So, after consulting with my psychiatrist, I’ve gone back to smoking and will see if there is some medication that can take the place of my smoking habit. Currently trying Wellbutrin but still smoking. So… all that is basically to say that there might be additional reasons for you to smoke besides just the stimming effect. I’ve noticed a lot of people on the spectrum often have some kind of habit that gives them dopamine spikes.

    • Thanks! I’m sorry it didn’t work out for you. So true about the dopamine. sometimes benefits do outweigh risks. Being afraid to go out would certainly interfere with life more than smoking. I believe that stimming is distraction from both internal & external sensory issues. Have you tried vaping? It might help to at least decrease the tar and additives you’re breathing in. Perhaps worth considering.

  2. E-cigs/vaping may not be marketed as a cessation device (that’s not in the interests of the market, of course), but according to all the press and other information I’ve read about it, that’s precisely how many are using it. Or, at the very least, it’s used as a safer (“harm reduction”) alternative.

    Whatever happened to that cigarette-looking cessation device? It seems to have completely disappeared, although there was a very brief period of TV advertising for it. It was NOT the same as an e-cig, since it didn’t produce any vapor, but otherwise, it was used much like a cigarette or pipe. I don’t remember how the system worked, but the commercial did explain that you gradually reduced the nicotine.

    As for nicotine addiction– I wouldn’t take it too lightly. I seem to remember reading Ozzy Osbourne saying in an interview that quitting smoking was harder than quitting any of the hard drugs he used to abuse.

Leave a Reply

