A broke down today

Today, my 10-year-old arrived home in an unusually bright mood.  That couldn’t last.  After supper, he became even more agitated than usual.  We asked him what was wrong. Her said there were things he just couldn’t get out of his head.  At first, citing irritation with his brother, then his father’s history of yelling (which has improved), and eventually admitting that it’s the society, in general, and the way people treat each other.

I flashed back to being 8, and sitting in the school library, tightening a handkerchief around my neck.  At the time, it felt like a genuine suicide attempt.  No one responded.

Help!

Standard

3 thoughts on “A broke down today

  1. I’m not sure what to say… I’ve been having some tonic spasms at night, including last night (Tuesday). I’ve had flashbacks before, but… a sudden attack of shakes and convulsions I couldn’t control is still in my memory. Um… well, I have dealt with PTSD before, let’s see… well, the hardest part, I guess, for me, is remembering that the nightmare is over, and that things are okay now. I have to tell myself that I don’t need to linger in that scary part, and things really are better.

    I dunno– does that help?

Leave a Reply

