Inequality

So, here’s the thing…
I work for a living, and cannot get ahead, Or even comfortable. I can barely breathe. I decided to buy my house when I was alone and down on my luck. One month after I signed the contract, I lost my job. I got a lower paying job. Then I found out I was pregnant. I enrolled in school to become an RN. While in school, I resumed my work as an LPN. I got railroaded from school a month from graduation, because the school did not want to deal with my disability. I had not had the resources to be properly diagnosed. At that time, I had been misdiagnosed Borderline. Three years later, I was railroaded from my job, then another job, then another job. We (my family had just grown to 4 by that time) lived on my unemployment for a year and a half. During that time, I applied for disability, and was denied because I still could not be properly diagnosed. I obtained employment with a non-profit, which has been such a blessing to me and my family. Unfortunately, my family does not qualify for disability because I am employed, and make around $35,000 a year. I commute 60 miles to work in an iffy vehicle, because I cannot afford better, and don’t want to be in debt.
That’s my inequality story in a nutshell.

Standard

Leave a Reply

