The Gallbladder Incident

On Wednesday, I spent the first part of the day flopping around in bed whining. I have a pretty high pain tolerance, but this was unbearable. Sharp visceral pain in the right upper quadrant of my abdomen, radiating intensely around my back. I was resistant to going to ER, as it had not done any good during subsequent attacks, which I’m pretty sure resulted from Choleolithiasis. I reluctantly drove myself to the ER of our rural county’s hospital. They were very busy, but did not take long to ultrasound me. I saw three large choleoliths lined up, evenly spaced, in a neat row. I asked the tech if those were liths (I’m not very good at reading radiology) to which she replied,”those are gallstones”. Ok. “Triplets.” Mazel Tov! After quite a while, they recommended I go to St. Francis(my second favorite Saint) in Wichita, and gave me the option of “being driven” or EMS. So I drove myself to Wichita, husband in tow.
While in the ER, I texted my mom to let her know what was going on. She insisted on going to be with me so she can ask a million questions and look worried.
I went to St. Francis. It wasn’t long before my parents arrived. We actually had a nice visit. It is so much easier to talk to Mom when I’m medicated. They didn’t stay too long, either.
They did another ultrasound, then an MRI, then dismissed me with no activity restrictions and a script for oxycodone.
I have a consult on Monday, and, hopefully, will have the gallbladder removed before Thanksgiving.

Standard

Leave a Reply

